Craigslist Scams Getting Out of Hand
March 16, 2008 – 5:04 pmWithin the rental industry, we have been seeing an increase in scammers trying to take advantage of renters looking for a rental property.
Here is how the scam works.
The scammer, usually from Nigeria, the UK or outside of the US, copies a residential rental ad from Craigslist and reposts it to Craigslist with a very low rental price.
The unassuming interested renter thinks the price is too good to be true but decides to contact the “owner” or “property manager” of the home through Craigslist.
The email response would look something like this. (This is a real email from a scammer). email is (corbeilh@yahoo.com)
Subject: Re: $800 / 3br - Better Than New!
We have decied to let you live in our house. As we have found your application very setisfactry and acceptable by my family. So we would want you to go through the acceptance form and get back to us on what you feel.I will be giving you a call later.we would like to send the following document to you via FEDEX to the address you sent to us and the tracking number will be sent to you so that you can possibly occupy our housePlease once againwe are giving you this on trust and do not dissapoint us and I promise you thatyou will love the house. So we are with the below document here with us.you will need to make Payment for Rent deposit and shippment of the Keys and document to the address you will have to provide to us.
Here are the contents of the document.1) Entrance and the rooms Keys
2)Paper/Permanent house form
3)The house documetary file.So please do get back to me today so that I will let know the next step to take concerning the payment. I await your reply ASAP.Regard and God bless you!!! You can call us on how to make payment for the shippment of the Keys and Document to the apartment. Our house number is +234-803-659-7132 OR 011-234-803-659-7132.or you can indicate if you want me to instruct you on how to make the payment.
Mr. Johnson David
WifeTheresa & daughter Melinda100 Church RoadLagosWest Africa. 01234
+234-803-659-7132 OR 011-234-803-659-7132
Missionary Code: 15148Z
http://new.gbgm-umc.org
The major red flags of any scam are:
- Outside of the US
- Misspellings
- Wanting Payments - Cashiers Check, FEDEX, etc
- Unable to personally show you the property
- Is traveling on business and will just send you the keys
If something does not feel right it might just be a scam. Be very careful. If you expect you are communicating with a scammer, you can contact the below authorities:
* FTC toll free hotline: 877-FTC-HELP (877-382-4357)
* FTC online complaint form (www.ftc.gov)
* Canadian PhoneBusters hotline: 888-495-8501
* Internet Fraud Complaint Form:
https://rn.ftc.gov/pls/dod/wsolcq$.startup?Z_ORG_CODE=PU01
If you have any questions about this or other questionable activities, please call our customer service center, or visit The Federal Trade Commission’s website at:
(www.ftc.gov)
(www.ftc.gov/checkoverpayment)



10 Responses to “Craigslist Scams Getting Out of Hand”
i am a very heavy craigslist user….i recieve scam emails all the time from people in uk…the first time i saw one i almost fell for it, it was saying that i won like 10 million dollars from coca cola based in the uk….i still recieve these emails today…when will they stop??
By teesha on Mar 16, 2008
Hi Teesha,
Unfortunately, because Craigslist is so big and they have a community self policing model, I don’t think it will ever stop.
By Dan Daugherty on Mar 16, 2008
Sounds like the self policing model is not working well and it is getting worse.
An easy way to combat this is to search on a paid site like mine.
By Dave Dugdale on Mar 16, 2008
Yeah this thing happens to us all the time when we need to find a new developer or content writers. I’ve lost more than a few hundred on people that charge a lot and then don’t come through (half up frong etc..) or they just don’t do work well like they claim. I’m nearly done with Craigslist. I can’t remember a good experience.
By jayson on Mar 17, 2008
I am no longer using Craigslist for anything, because I kept running into these scams. It seems like about 50% of all postings on that site are scams, and I just don’t want to deal with it anymore. Someone really needs to come up with an alternative to Craigslist that is better policed. BTW, I actually contacted the Better Business Bureau about this, and requested that the folks at Craigslist refund the subway money I spent on going to look at phony properties, as well as direct me to a REPUTABLE real estate broker. I have yet to hear back from them.
By Chloe on Apr 6, 2008
Here is another scam to watch for:
This is someone answering to a REAL posting on craigslist and asking for names and addresses as if he is going to send a payment to rent the apartment. He is supposedely in the UK etc and in need to rent the appartment for wife and daugther. They basically start asking for your information and omitting to send out their reference letters etc and all information that has been requested to them. They keep sending you emails insisting on making a payment to you….
Be aware it is a scam….
————————————————
> Date: Tue, 5 Aug 2008 01:42:00 +0100
> From: dr.jeremylawrance45@gmail.com
> To:
> Subject: Re: Apartment
>
> Hello,
> Thanks for your mail and details on this unit, I am indeed
>
> serious about renting this unit and will be willing to offer you
>
> 2 Months rent plus the security deposit in order to secure this
>
> Unit prior to our arrival. Could you be kind enough to let me?
>
> Know what the electricity/utility cost would be? As I will
>
> really need to have this unit to myself. You can send me the
>
> lease Application to wire, to enable be review it ahead of
>
> time. I would
> Eventually have it signed physically when i arrive in state. In
>
> my Opinion, appending signatories should be done properly
>
> and at best physically. Please, send me a picture view of the
>
> living room and bed rooms.
>
> This is an international situation .With this arrangement, my
>
> financier in the states, will be effecting your payment deposit
>
> to you. I believe we can work together and ensure every
>
> arrangement that we shall both execute in line with my
>
> taking up the tenancy should be done accordingly to ensure
>
> we have a proper understanding. In view of my work
>
> schedule, i would want us to finalize basic arrangements. I
>
> will arrive in the United States by 15th of AUGUST, with my
>
> wife Nancy and daughter KELLY.I will like you to
> Send me your FULLNAME, ADDRESS, CITY, STATE, ZIPCODE
>
> AND YOURMOBILE NUMBER to issue out the payment, And
>
> get back to me with the total house rent. I will sign and fill
>
> the application form and the lease on the day of my arrival
>
> to state, If you require any specific information, pls let me
>
> know or you can call me on my cell phone
>
> +447031919865,please dial as presented for international calls
>
> .
>
> DR JEREMY LAWRANCE,Ph.D (Chemist)
> Christie Hospital NHS Trust
> Wilmslow Road, Withington,
> Manchester M20 4BX
> United Kingdom
> Phone: +447031919865
> ..to protect human health and the environment.
By Alejandra on Aug 5, 2008
here’s another from dr jeremy lawrance — more succinct = less time to write ungrammatical english.
Hello,
Good,day over there as i was browsing through internet i saw your apartment advert on [ http://craigslist.com ]craigslist.com and am interested in renting it.I will be signing a year lease for it and want to know the modalities for renting it.
I will be doing a year research on pharmacy work while in the states and will be staying with my daughter KELLY
I will be very GLAD if i can hear from you in time as i will want to conclude the rental process before we arrive in the State by 25th of AUGUST.
.
Regards
DR JEREMY LAWRANCE,Ph.D (Chemist)
Christie Hospital NHS Trust
Wilmslow Road, Withington,
Manchester M20 4BX
United Kingdom
Phone: +447031919865
By laura on Aug 15, 2008
I have received the same emails from “Dr. Jeremy Lawrance”. He seems too desparate, doesn’t know where he will be doing his “research”, very poor grammar, etc. I have received the above 2 emails, written excactly as they appear above, plus several others. What does he hope to gain??
By Hope on Aug 17, 2008
We have also received numerous emails from this DR JEREMY LAWRANCE…and we too, noticed his very poor grammar. I don’t get it? What does he intend on doing with our addresses?
Thanks for your comments…I ‘knew’ this one had to be a scam, and you guys helped me to confirm this.
Cheers.
By Reena on Aug 18, 2008
We just got scammed by the same guy - who refers himself as Dr. jeremy Lawrance. It sounded to good to be true. Beware…not sure what he is after but we had at least 2-3 email correspondents with him before the red flags appeared.
By Sam on Sep 5, 2008